29
Aug
13

Even With Features Janelle Monae Holds her own on new “Electric Lady”


20130829-111204.jpg

If you know the fresh, yet nostalgic talent that is Janelle Monae, you know that an album packed with A-list producers and artists is not necessary. But with production and features from Miguel, Erykah Badu, Solange Knowles, Big Boi, Cee-Lo Green, Esperanza Spaulding and the ultimate musical genius that is none other than Prince, her sophomore album Electric Lady is a confident, thought provoking, groovy rocket launch to planet JM.

Lucky us, we’ve already heard Electric Lady, which hits store shelves on Sept 10. Our favorites include the undaunting, girly anthem Queen ft. Erykah Badu, the soulfully sweet title track ft. Solange Knowles and Primetime, the whimsical, yet funky love song ft. Miguel. And damn… that’s only the first three songs of the double CD.

Check out our recent conversation with Miss Monae below:

How will we get to know you better on Electric Lady?

You have to listen…There are lots of different subjects [ on the album.] I talk about politics, religion, sexuality, empowerment, community . I speak about those being marginalized. And I have some amazing guest artists to help me get all these ideas out. I collaborated with Erykah Badu; One of my best friends and I love her so much. I collaborated with Miguel, Esperanza Spaulding, Solange Knowles and my musical hero, Prince.

Primetime ft. Miguel is such a funky song that reminds us of the early ’80s and groups like The Revolution. Did you have Miguel in mind for the song?

I did. I’ve been a big fan of Miguel and he’s been a big fan of mine. So it was very mutual and organic for us to work together. And I just wanted to make sure the song was ‘the’ song. So when I wrote the song, it was just great for him to follow my lead and let me produce him. I flew out to L.A. and we worked. It was a great and amazing experience.

Although you have a signature look, it seems like you get a kick out of almost playing other characters and therefore expressing your style and beauty via those representations. What do you have in store for your fans and those that like to keep track of your fashion and different looks?

You’ll just have to wait. I can never tell people what I’m thinking. I always have to just do it!

20130829-110137.jpg

0 Responses to “Even With Features Janelle Monae Holds her own on new “Electric Lady””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Dallas

Bakersfield

JOURNALICIOUS! SIGHTING

Sometimes, you gotta take the kids to work: Here's Beyonce wrapping up a sexy lingerie photoshoot, with Blue Ivy close by. We're glad to see Blue is tech savvy. lol

Subscribe to the J! feed!!

J! QUOTE OF THE DAY!!

Tamar Braxton on Lil Kim's Pregnancy: "Awwwww congrats @LilKim on your little one," Tamar tweeted.
Happy 7th Month Bornday To the King !! #KingstonCreed #kcmasterpiece 👑🎈🎉

Click here for daily Journalicious! goodies via email

Follow J! on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,707,370 hits

