07
Jul
12

Celebs Support Frank Ocean as he Reveals Sexuality on Tumblr and new Album


“On his debut studio album, Channel Orange set to be released July 17, he is singing about love and instead of saying ‘her’ he says ‘him,’ in a few songs. ” – PS Love Charli

No better day than Independence Day for music’s most buzzworthy super-producer Frank Ocean to declare his freedom by finally declaring that he is a bi-sexual male.

On July 4, Frank confessed, via Tumblr, his first relationship with a man stating,

“4 summers ago, I met somebody. I was 19 years old. He was too…He wouldn’t tell the truth about his feelings for me for another 3 years, I kept up a peculiar friendship with him because I couldn’t imagine keeping up my life without him.”

“…”We spent that summer, and the summer after, together. Everyday almost. And on the days we were together, time would glide,” he wrote of a romance he shared with another man. “Most of the day I’d see him, and his smile. I’d hear his conversation and his silence..until it was time to sleep. Sleep I would often share with him.”

(Damn, even this man’s Tumblr messages are deep.)

He then added,

“I don’t have any secrets that I need kept anymore…I feel like a free man.”

Although some industry insiders believe that Frank’s declaration of  sexual independence could devastate his career, the producer (whose most notable work is several songs on the Watch the Throne album) is receiving great praises and admiration from his industry pals.

Chely Wright, the first country music singer to reveal her gay sexuality told TMZ,

“I can’t think of a better way for Frank to celebrate Independence Day. It’s spectacular.”

Busta Rhymes expressed his respect for Frank, telling MTv,

“Whatever that man does in his personal space is that man’s choice and that man’s business,” Bussa Bus told MTV News. “I am an extremely huge fan of Frank Ocean. His music is impeccable to me, and as far as I’m concerned, I respect the dude completely. … I don’t know if it’s just about hip-hop being willing to accept it, I think the whole world is ready to accept whatever people choose to be in life. From hip-hop all the way down to the common man that walks the streets on the Earth every day, we’re at a place in life where we gotta respect and accept what people choose as their path that they wanna walk in life, because ultimately you want people to respect what you choose as your path and your journey in life.”

Trina commented,

“He’s extremely talented and that’s what matters.” But Trina tells us, “I don’t think [Frank’s] music sales or the level of support his music obtains should be judged based on his sexual preference.” She adds, “If he’s happy and comfortable with his sexuality then so be it. I feel his decision to come forward was bold and honest. It’s his life. Let him enjoy and live it. I wish him much success and happiness.”

Other celebrities congratulated  Ocean on Twitter.

Rapper Bun B put it best, tweeting,

“Nobody should have to live a lie. And I don’t judge people. GOD does. RT @Chris23Brunson: @BunBTrillOG whats ya opinion about Frank Ocean?”

“I salute you, brave soul. Independence Day. @Frank Ocean

-Solange Knowles

“frank ocean is very important for the growth of humanity.”

– Mac Miller

“Frank Ocean is more honest than the average industry person!”

– Cormega

“Profoundly moved by courage of @frank_ocean”

– Russell Simmons

 

 

 

0 Responses to “Celebs Support Frank Ocean as he Reveals Sexuality on Tumblr and new Album”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Dallas

BEST DRESSED! Bette Midler in Reem Acra

Bakersfield

JOURNALICIOUS! SIGHTING

Sometimes, you gotta take the kids to work: Here's Beyonce wrapping up a sexy lingerie photoshoot, with Blue Ivy close by. We're glad to see Blue is tech savvy. lol

Subscribe to the J! feed!!

J! QUOTE OF THE DAY!!

Tamar Braxton on Lil Kim's Pregnancy: "Awwwww congrats @LilKim on your little one," Tamar tweeted.
HAPPY B-EARTHDAY KING CREED!!! 🤴🏼🎂🎉#happy1stbirthday #kingcreed

Click here for daily Journalicious! goodies via email

Follow J! on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,708,962 hits

