19
Jun
12

ARTIST EXCLUSIVE: Alexander Star Blazes a New Lane in Music


Your whole style, delivery and lyrics are so in tune to what’s lacking in music these days. When did you decide that you would embrace such topics as self esteem, uplifting women and children and everyday life issues?

A.Star: Aww man, thanks for the kind words. What really made the big difference in my writing was when I finally accepted that “I’m me, not them.” I quit trying to write what I thought people wanted to hear and started writing what I felt like saying. It’s that simple, and that makes all the difference.

2. You say that you are “renewing faith in good music.” What do you feel is missing from music in this day and age?

A. Star: I honestly don’t feel like anything is missing in music. It’s all there. But I know that the mass media only allows exposure through certain avenues, which are all either over-congested or being hogged. Just like rush hour in the big city, you have to fight to get your lane. Or if you’re one of the chosen few, you blaze a new one.

3. You also spend a lot of time performing and speaking at schools, churches, non-profit events as well. Tell us about that.

A. Star: I always felt a desire to write and sing songs that I could pull off in front of any crowd, meaning grown folks as well as the youth. It’s tricky to do, but it opens up your performance versatility. It just so happens that I was blessed with records like “Changes in the Air” and “Our Women” that have such powerful messages that schools and churches can appreciate them for what they are, despite religious or scholastic politics. Good music speaks to many circles.

4.Your first album “No Hype Just Hope” has numerous tracks that truly leave the listener with a good feeling about themselves, their goals and priorities and how you’re just a regular person with dreams just like them. What can we expect from yo

ur second mixtape “Tetrys: Get in Where U fit In?”
A. Star: “TETRYS – Get In Where U Fit In” is all about liberating myself as a writer. With my last album, I was very careful about staying on the clean, positive and educational path. I got love from a lot of people who support the S.H.A.R.P. (Speaking Honestly About Relevant Points) movement, and still do. Problem is, not everyone wants to be educated or enlightened by music. An extremely talented producer friend of mine told me like this: “Yo Star, I absolutely love the uplifting message and positive spirit. I don’t know anyone who is better than you at what you do. That’s why I wanna hear you, for once, be a little cocky on a record. Let em know just how raw you really are.” He liberated me with that statement. On TETRYS, I’m not writing on my tippy-toes or worrying about what people think. I’m just writing. That’s whatz gonna make me great. I feel freer every day.

5. Explain the title of the mixtape?

A. Star: I chose to call the project “TETRYS – Get In Where U Fit In” to serve as a metaphor for the writing process. Songs hardly ever come ready to sing. Ideas drop from the sky in different shapes and pieces, and the writer has to take hold of them and put them into place to create something solid. The more layers you create (cleverness / versatility), the stronger the piece becomes; and once you find that final piece to solidify all the layers, you’ve won points. Just like the game of Tetrys lol.

6.  You’re also allowing people from all walks of life to send you drops and footage to rep their brands on Tetrys and tell exactly “Where They Fit In” in this world. Why?
A. Star: No matter how good you are at what you do, if you don’t support others, they probably won’t support you. I just want to give other artists the opportunity to rep themselves like many have given me the opportunity to do. Plus, I want to feel where other artists are coming from, just like I want them to understand my musical mission.


7. Tell us about the first single “What it Feelz Like.”

A. Star: Most working class people can only dream about what it’s like to be a celebrity. As one of those people, I made a fun record narrating a daydream of how it would feel to live like Diddy, Jay-Z or Russell Simmons – just for a day. It was produced by Esteyban of Trilogy Muzik, and he gave me the idea by framing it around what happened in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Picture the scene when Charlie, a poor kid with high hopes and a good heart, finally found the highly coveted golden ticket inside the Wonka Bar. A bystander who witnessed him win it said, “You’ve won, kid! Run home, run home as fast as you can!!” Now, picture a blue-collar worker in the same situation, only the golden ticket says, “You’re ‘the man’ for 24 hours…” That’s what “What It Feelz Like” is about.

8. On the outside, people may see you as an attractive and sexy artist, but on the inside you seem to be very unattached from that. Like the YouTube video you recently made freestylin’ with your granny (Granny Whammy the Boss) is hilarious. lol Who does that in this image driven industry!! Can you comment on that?

A. Star: Grammy Whammy (yes, I really call her that lol) is like my sidekick, haha. For the last 10 years (ever since I moved to South Florida), I’ve picked her up every Friday afternoon and taken her to the beauty salon and out to lunch. A lot of people who see us together say that most grandkids hardly ever visit their grandparents, let alone take them out. But to me it’s a pleasure. She’s 95 years young and still has a golden sense of humor. She loves to have fun, and she sometimes even messes with people just because she can lol. But seriously, most importantly we love each other unconditionally. She supports my dreams without a second thought, and I will always carry that with me. She lived through the great depression, civil rights, numerous wars and I don’t know how many presidents lol – which one of your homies can say that? I really respect her. My Grammy’s a G.

9. In this industry, you’ve got to be a hustler. And you’ve already proved you’re a beast in the streets by selling 9,000 copies of your first endeavor. Tell us about that?

I did sell 9,000 copies of The Journey with my former recording group. We were called the Free Agents, and we were dope. Bustin out acapellas wherever the heck we were in 3-part harmony and beatboxin the verses as we rapped and sang was our calling card. Being a Free Agent helped mold me into the professional recording artist I am today. I owe major developments of my craft to the experiences my group gave me. Shoutz out to Johnny Mars, Chris Wynter and Lex (rest in peace, my brother; I love you).

10.You’re a songwriter who also writes jingles and hooks for commercials and brands. Would you say that you enjoy the writing part more than being an artist?

Believe it or not, I totally prefer being a writer over being an artist. I wanna be that guy who lives comfortably, has a nice family, drives a nice whip and owns a nice home without the general public knowing who I am or what I do. Fame means nothing. Family means everything. Too bad I gotta perform for people to acknowledge my gift of writing. Catch 22.


11.0Are you working on any other projects right now?

Aside from continuing work on TETRYS, I’m writing and recording reference records to get placements with major artists. I set my sights on whomever I want to write for, and then put myself in their shoes (mentally). If I can’t book studio time right away, I take my laptop and USB mic into the backseat of my car and lay the vocals in the middle of the night when the streets are quiet. Windows up; no engine; no AC – the car’s pretty soundproof. If some of those records don’t get placed, I may release them on a mixtape called “Backseat Sessions” so they don’t go to waste. Just another way to display my writing versatility.
Visit Alexander Star at www.AlexanderStar.com
0 Responses to “ARTIST EXCLUSIVE: Alexander Star Blazes a New Lane in Music”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Dallas

Bakersfield

JOURNALICIOUS! SIGHTING

Sometimes, you gotta take the kids to work: Here's Beyonce wrapping up a sexy lingerie photoshoot, with Blue Ivy close by. We're glad to see Blue is tech savvy. lol

Subscribe to the J! feed!!

J! QUOTE OF THE DAY!!

Tamar Braxton on Lil Kim's Pregnancy: "Awwwww congrats @LilKim on your little one," Tamar tweeted.
Hot Fun in the summertime! ☀️💦🌸

Click here for daily Journalicious! goodies via email

Follow J! on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,708,155 hits

