19
Oct
09

Trina: From Bad to Amazin’



No one knows how it feels to be in charge and in control like Trina. From the time the Miami rapstress stepped on the scene with mentor Trick Daddy, she claimed her status as the what?…You already know the nickname. And since then, the “Baddest B***h” has controlled the music charts from her debut on Slip N Slide/Atlantic, to her platinum selling status and now, her 5th studio album Amazin’.

Growing up in both  the Miami projects and the upper class sector, it’s no wonder how Trina can represent for the hood and still shop and mingle from South Beach (Miami,) to Robertson Blvd (LA,) to Paris and even to Preston Road in Dallas.
Although she has a new album and a new attitude, the rap queen is still a boss with a down to earth and fun personality. With features from Lady Gaga, Keri Hilson, Ludacris, Lyfe Jennings, Nicki Minaj, Rick Ross and her own lyrically hot female group Pretty Money, Amazin’ is the most anticipated album from the Miami diva yet. Read what Trina has to say about her career, her love life and her new album Amazin,’ which is scheduled to hit stores March 2010.
Hi Trina. Wow! It’s great to talk with the Baddest B***h!
Oh! Thank you.! I appreciate it.
I must say that I love the single, That’s My Attitude. Does a new attitude really come along with the single?
Yes!  I’m back… I’m at a great place. I’m blessed…I’m in control of my own destiny.  I have a lot to be happy about; I got my attitude,  my money, new music and a fresh face.
That’s My Attitude is a street record…about staying strong and positive in 2010. [It’s about] stepping your game up and being confident. And it’s always good to have a hot track for the club.
So, what are your favorite tracks on the new album Amazin?
[The title track] Amazin’, and there’s a track with Keri Hilson. It’s an upbeat, uptempo record.
There’s a song called Go So Hard. It’s… totally different from the kind of records I do. At first, I didn’t know if I wanted to do this record. It’s wasn’t the kind of record I was used to doing…It’s laid back. I’m used to doing upbeat songs, but I took myself outside of my element. It’s the record that challenged me the most.
Make Way is a song that shows my growth. It’s about how to stay strong and relevant. That’s the type of thing that moves me.
It’s great to know that both you and your mentor Trick Daddy have new albums releasing on Slip N Slide/EMI. Does Trick make an appearance on Amazin’?
No, Trick is not on this album. We did record one song that unfortunately did not make the album. But, it’s always good to be in the studio with him.
You’ve been spotted in Dallas on many occasions. My guess is that it’s because of Denver Nuggets star Kenyon Martin. Are the two of you still together?
(laughs) Yes. We’re really happy. We’re in a happy place. He’s a great person. I’m happy for his career and he’s happy for my career.
Outside of music, what else is Trina up to?
Well, I just shot the video.  I just attended the BET Awards. I’m excited about that. I missed Milan Fashion Week, but I’ll be there next season.
I have a charity called the Diamond Doll Foundation. 1500 girls came out this year. We teach the girls how to stay grounded. It’s easy to get distracted when you’re young. It’s a big world and you can get screwed up. I was once their age. My experiences evolved me into the woman I am today. [However,] music has been my biggest influence.
I also work with Brothers For Peace. They’re all about stopping the violence and they help younger kids. The organization burns and melts down bullets and turns them into jewelry.
I’m also interested in teen pregnancy and child molestation.
It’s been so much fun talking to you Trina. It’s like talking to a girlfriend. We are girlfriends now! This album has such a strong statement. I love it!
I just want everybody to see what an amazing… place I am in life.
I’m blessed. I’m Amazin.’ God is Amazin’. The album is Amazin.’
To all the “Baddest B****es,” go cop the album Amazin.’ because you love that strong female swagger of Trina, who represents all the positive and sexy urban women of the world. Guys, go cop the album because you love to hear Trina ’s sexy, yet bossy tone that tells you what she likes (and doesn’t like) about a real man.

1 Response to “Trina: From Bad to Amazin’”


  1. 1 Buhle
    August 5, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Love love trina!!!! Diamond Princess:)…


Leave a Reply

Dallas

BEST DRESSED! Bette Midler in Reem Acra

Bakersfield

JOURNALICIOUS! SIGHTING

Sometimes, you gotta take the kids to work: Here's Beyonce wrapping up a sexy lingerie photoshoot, with Blue Ivy close by. We're glad to see Blue is tech savvy. lol

Subscribe to the J! feed!!

J! QUOTE OF THE DAY!!

Tamar Braxton on Lil Kim's Pregnancy: "Awwwww congrats @LilKim on your little one," Tamar tweeted.
HAPPY B-EARTHDAY KING CREED!!! 🤴🏼🎂🎉#happy1stbirthday #kingcreed

Click here for daily Journalicious! goodies via email

Follow J! on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 1,708,963 hits

